Gym Rat (Not Really)

I joined a gym for the first time in years. I feel nervous about it! By joining I have committed myself to going. Plus- I am a stay-at-home Mom who hardly ever has childcare, so I will be using the childcare at the gym. That is a scary step for me/us, too. My son and I have been attached at the hip since he was born, and even more so since I got sober.

It is a positive step for us. I will focus on that and try to let the fear go.

I have so many goals. Sometimes they feel impossible. I try to remember to take it one freakin’ day at a time and do a few things today better than I did yesterday. A few SMALL things.ย Some days that doesn’t work out, but I like to think that the general trajectory of my life is moving in a positive and expansive direction. There are dips where I stop moving or move backwards, but the general progress is upwards and outwards.

“Remember to dream big, think long-term, underachieve on a daily basis, and take baby steps. That is the key to long-term success.” -Robert Kiyosaki

Happy Weekend! xx

10 thoughts on “Gym Rat (Not Really)

  1. Haha–love that quote! That is so true: baby steps, and underachieve! LOL You got this, girl… My trick to working out is this: keep it fun. You should not be dreading it; if you are, let yourself know that you can SLOW IT DOWN to where you feel OK during your workout, not taxed, out of breath, or stressed. You can walk, basically, instead of run. Take it easy, keep it fun, and EVERY little bit helps, so even if you underachieve that day, you’re still doing great! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Congrats on signing up, that’s a huge deal. Try out some classes– you can meet some really cool people that way. And splurge and have someone “train” you for a couple workouts; that way you can learn to use different machines and stuff. Happy for you!

  3. Well done you! I also went to the gym for the first time in YEARS yesterday. I know already that exercise helps so much to keep my mood up, it’s just a question of getting out there and doing some… Like you, I am full time with my kids, can be hard to fit it in. Good luck, keep us posted on how you get on ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Hi Jen, I have missed you. I hope you are doing well. Sending you lots of wonderful thoughts and well wishes. Your progress amazes and inspires me. – Hugs, Heather

Leave a Reply

