Stress is No Excuse For Actin’ Dumb

Change-Quotes-10

My husband’s family, and therefore my family, our family (I’m still getting used to being married, can you tell?), is facing a big loss. We are traveling tomorrow to visit for what will, in all likelihood, be the last time we get to see this important person. In the midst of us rushing around, trying to make travel plans, and otherwise readying ourselves for the trip, my husband was rear-ended by an uninsured motorist. Our old truck is probably toast and we will have to sue to get any money for it. My husband is not seriously injured, so we are beyond grateful for that. But really… hey universe… what’s up with today?

Anyway, let’s get positive up on this blog instead of dwelling in the mire. One wonderful thing about today is that I have not had the desire to drink at all, really. I know that it would not make anything better. Today would still suck. Because today just sucks. Period.

Being drunk would only make it harder. I would be hungover in the morning when we have to get up ridiculously early to drive to the airport. I might cry and feel sorry for myself instead of doing proactive things that are good for me like drinking tea and taking a hot bath. I wouldn’t want to go. I would not be acting like the mature adult that I am, a grown ass woman, if you will. Grown ass women face their problems head on instead of hiding from them.

I am not sure if I will be able to write much for the next few days, blog. But I will be back. I have made it 25 days and I am not quitting quitting without a fight. Even when life hands you shit instead of lemonade (pardon my language).

6 thoughts on “Stress is No Excuse For Actin’ Dumb

  1. Best wishes for your trip and family visit. When I was very very newly sober (I’m on day 81 now), I found it helped me to think exactly the way you are: ‘would a glass of wine actually make this situation any *better*?’ Invariably the answer was no, it wouldn’t make things better and in fact would probably make them worse. Or it would feel good in the short term–nothing wrong with acknowledging that, IMO–but only in the very short term, say 20 minutes. And feeling a little better for 20 minutes wasn’t worth the regret that would follow. And then all I had to do (‘all!’ she says nonchalantly as though it weren’t really fucking hard sometimes 🙂 ) was wait until I felt better on my own, without the wine. And so far I always have. As I suspect you will too. 🙂

    • Thank you for your comment! Sorry it took so long to reply. I agree- it is so much better to feel good without the aid of anything. I think it is the only way to really process emotions, otherwise we are just avoiding them. I am not used to dealing with my emotions, however, so I am having to learn how to do it! I am trying to embrace the process. Best wishes to you! ~Jen

  2. I am sorry to hear of your family crisis, but I am SOOOO happy for your lack of cravings!!! Isn’t it awesome to know that in the past you would have made the wrong choices, but today you are in a better place. I wish you and your family the best. Have a safe trip. I hope that things improve for you and your family. You Rock!!! – Heather

    • Thank you, Heather! I really appreciate it. I am doing well this evening and looking forward to a good weekend. My bday is Sunday! Thanks for stopping by to say hi. I hope you are doing well too. 🙂 ~Jen

Leave a Reply

